Play Free Realms NowJoin Free Realms Insider

worldplay is offline Newbie Explorer

Default What do you think about international gaming?

Hello to everyone at Free Realms Insider!

My name is Aaron Delwiche. I'm an Associate Professor in the Department of Communication at Trinity University in San Antonio, Texas.

I'm also a member of Worldplay Research Initiative (WRI). This collaborative project studies transnational play and cross-cultural interaction in virtual worlds. During this phase of the project, we are collecting a wide range of opinions from gamers, developers and games researchers around the globe. We have created our own website to collect data and share our findings.

We are particularly intrigued by the possibility of receiving feedback from Free Realms players, since this is such an international game. If you have a few moments of time, we would be grateful if you could share thoughts via the WRI Gamer Survey. The survey is currently available in English, Chinese and German, and we are in the process of translating it into other languages. In order to participate in the survey, you must be eighteen years or older.

You can learn more about this project by visiting our public page. Here, you can learn more about the Worldplay Research Initiative, read researcher biographies, take the survey, and share your suggestions via e-mail.

We realize that the gaming community has been surveyed to death during the past few years, and we promise that this project is not another instance of "hit and run research." Our activities have been reviewed and approved by the Institutional Review Board at Trinity, and we are committed to ethical, respectful research. Our findings will be shared with the broader gaming community via our class web page.

If you have any further questions or concerns about this class, please feel free to contact me via e-mail (adelwich@trinity.edu) or telephone (210/999-8153).

Thanks in advance for your help!

Aaron