Play Free Realms NowJoin Free Realms Insider

Goodfoot is offline Newbie Explorer

Default A letter to the developers, from a new member and Free Realms fan...

I am new to Free Realms. I recently closed my World of Warcraft account, have been looking for an alternative, and am settled on FR. Now, I left WoW for basically two reasons:

1.) World of Warcraft was how my brother and I spent time together. We have been fans of the fantasy genre as long as we can remember, and are consummate lore nerds. So we found World of Warcraft immensely engaging. However, after almost three years of playing, it became increasingly clear to us that we were never going to be the caliber of player - nor have the time needed - to complete or enjoy endgame content (raids). In turn, it became increasingly difficult to justify paying for a game that we were not going to see the full content of. To me it was like reading a book that was missing the last chapter, and only being able to hear about how it ended.

2.) I am a Christian. Now I am not of the persuasion where I forsake all things secular, far from it. And I am not saying that World of Warcraft is anti-Christian, but they are willing to cross lines that I just cannot. Demons and Necromancy being involved in playable classes was something that always bothered me. I am talking about Warlocks and Death Knights. I tried to be “open-minded” and played alongside them under the justification that in the real world you occasionally have to deal with bad people (referring to the class, not the player). But for me, a necessary evil – if such things exist - should be a last resort, not the starring role. And saying “it’s just a game” does not cut it. The issue eventually troubled me to the point of genuine discomfort and disapproval.

---