Play Free Realms NowJoin Free Realms Insider

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree10Likes

Title: Coloring Breakdown

Zombie Cakes is offline Master Gamer

Default Coloring Breakdown

------------------------------ ------------------------------
    Digital Coloring Breakdown with the Use of Photoshop CS5.

Hi again everyone.
    After much thought and consideration, I decided to create a small thread about how I coloring my drawings in hopes to help some people who want to understand the way it's done :]
    Now I'm no professional but we all can learn from one another regardless. I hope this helps some of the artists on here and can further help with their skills even if the subject matter is different!

For a list of things I use when creating digital art, I mainly stick with Photoshop as my main program to draw and color in when working with digital media. (I am fond of the lines for I like my art to look sketchy and a bit messy. Everyone is different in this aspect but this breakdown can be put to use in SAI as well as other art programs).
    The tablet I use is a basic Wacom Bamboo, nothing fancy or too expensive!

Make sure to also get a good playlist of music going or something to inspire you! Depending on the image I'm drawing, my music preferences will change at times.

Now...Lets Begin!:

​The Initial Sketch will always be a bit messy, after all it is a sketch!
    I always create a layer for the sketch and line art. I choose not to do everything directly on the background layer but everyone may do this as they wish!

The left image shows my basic skeleton I have laid out for this character upon starting the drawing. To the right is the finished line art after sketching it in and detailing. This can take awhile depending on how complex the drawing is (derp lol) but take your time and never rush!

Base Colors are just that. They are the foundation of your shading.